Time flies when you are flying. - Reisverslag uit Castellón de la Plana, Spanje van Merel Hooff - WaarBenJij.nu Time flies when you are flying. - Reisverslag uit Castellón de la Plana, Spanje van Merel Hooff - WaarBenJij.nu

Time flies when you are flying.

Door: Merel van Hooff

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Merel

07 November 2015 | Spanje, Castellón de la Plana

Hello everybody,

It has been a while since my last blog so i felt like writing a new one. The last month has passed by very quick so far, i met some amazing people, found some cool places to hang out and also the language keeps getting better.
In the beginning i found the courses in Spanish a miserable mistake but now i have to admit that i sincerely enjoy them and that i learn a lot from it. It is a pity hat here in Spain in general we have to do a lot of homework, every weekend i have to make some kind of groupwork or write an essay, no me gusta!

Since in the Spanish courses there are a lot of Spanish people, i try to broaden my network by chatting with them and i actually found some really cool people to hang out with. I help them with their english and they help me by correcting my spanish, in this way i am able to learn a lot and have fun at the same time.
Talking about friends, i met a very nice girl Melissa! Together we go to visit cool places and of course to do some nice shopping here. Castellon is a cool place with a nice historic heart and very cute shops, though i have to admit that for better shopping and more adventure you have to leave Castellon for bigger places like Barcelona, Madrid or Valencia. Saturday i visited the amazing Valencia. It is a very nice and warm city full of historic details and beautiful buildings. I obviously went there with Melissa and together we visited some churches and cathedrals, it is incredible the way everything is build and decorated. Everybody in Valencia and actually everywhere in Spain is super dressed up on saturdays. I think most of them have a wedding or a baptism every week, haha. I could not imagine this happening in the Netherlands. The catholic standards of the Spanish people are a real eye opener for me, as well the siestas, which i sincerely HATE.

So since Spain is super close by plane i fly back to the Netherlands every now an then to see my family. Two weeks ago i had to go back to do a resit of French (YES I PASSED:D) and of course i made a small mini holiday out of it. The costs of tickets are more or less okay, it really depends on the time and month but most of the time you will pay about 160 euros for a return ticket. Good price if you compare it to my extremely expensive tickets to Mauritius. Next week i will fly back to the Netherlands again to celebrate the birthday of my granny, who will turn 85! After my cousin Ivar is coming to visit me and the week after Niek, then my mum and granny, then my mum in law and brother in law and then my little sister. I will have a blast showing them all around in this very small but cute village.

Ah, i forgot to tell about the language course. The language course is very different then i expected. First of all it is pretty expensive (170euros) and secondly i feel like we repeat a lot of things i already knew. Still i have to admit that i screwed up the intake test so terribly bad that i have to be grateful that i am in a B1 class instead of A1.
The teacher is a very kind woman, who is extremely good in explaining grammar (yes, in Spanish) and learns us a lot of words and sentences for the daily life. We also discuss a lot of Spanish habits and rituals, which makes it easier to understand the Spanish people.

So i think this is my story so far, i will try to update more soon!
Bye, besos.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Spanje, Castellón de la Plana

Merel

Actief sinds 05 Okt. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 142
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2500

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Oktober 2015 - 31 December 2015

Study abroad

Landen bezocht: